RBI Governor List PDF Download

RBI Governor List PDF Download – Are you looking for a comprehensive list of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) governors in a PDF format? In this blog post, we will provide you with all the information you need.

Introduction to RBI

The Reserve Bank of India is the central banking institution of India. It was established on April 1, 1935, in accordance with the provisions of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934. The RBI plays a crucial role in the Indian economy by formulating and implementing monetary policies, regulating and supervising financial institutions, and managing the country’s foreign exchange reserves.

List of RBI Governors

Here is a list of RBI governors from the time of its inception:

  • Osborne Smith (1935–1937)
  • James Braid Taylor (1937–1943)
  • C. D. Deshmukh (1943–1949)
  • Benegal Rama Rau (1949–1957)
  • K. G. Ambegaonkar (1957)
  • H. V. R. Iyengar (1957–1962)
  • P. C. Bhattacharya (1962–1967)
  • L. K. Jha (1967–1970)
  • B. N. Adarkar (1970)
  • S. Jagannathan (1970–1975)
  • N. C. Sen Gupta (1975)
  • K. R. Puri (1975)
  • M. Narasimham (1977)
  • I. G. Patel (1977–1982)
  • Manmohan Singh (1982–1985)
  • Amitabh Ghosh (1985–1985)
  • R. N. Malhotra (1985–1990)
  • S. Venkitaramanan (1990–1992)
  • C. Rangarajan (1992–1997)
  • Bimal Jalan (1997–2003)
  • Y. V. Reddy (2003–2008)
  • Duvvuri Subbarao (2008–2013)
  • Raghuram Rajan (2013–2016)
  • Urjit Patel (2016–2018)
  • Shaktikanta Das (2018–present)

Shaktikanta Das is the current RBI Governor, assuming office on December 12, 2018.

The list continues with many more governors who have served the RBI over the years. To access the complete list of RBI governors, including their respective terms, you can download the PDF file by clicking on the link provided below.

RBI Governor List PDF Download

To download the RBI governor list in PDF format, please click on the following link:


Once you click on the link, the PDF file will open in a new tab or prompt you to save it to your device, depending on your browser settings.


The RBI governor list PDF is a valuable resource for anyone interested in the history of the Reserve Bank of India and the individuals who have held the position of governor. By downloading the PDF, you can have access to a comprehensive list of RBI governors and their respective terms. Stay informed about the leaders who have shaped India’s monetary policies and contributed to the country’s economic growth.

Disclaimer: The information provided in the RBI governor list PDF is accurate to the best of our knowledge. However, it is always advisable to cross-check with official sources for any updates or changes.

Leave a Comment